Related Pages
Photo Albums
Piatt (pronounced Pie-IT) Endowment at UCSC 
Capitola-Aptos Rotarian Henry Piatt and his wife Vera were children of Mid-America. Vera was born in Iowa in 1907 and Henry, in Missouri. In the late 1920's Henry was traveling the world with the U.S. Navy when he was stricken with Tuberculosis and
hospitalized for treatment in a CO military facility. Vera was a nurse in that hospital. They fell in love, Vera resigned her commission and after Henry's recovery began their lifelong marriage, which brought them to Sacramento.
Henry's business relationships led him to his first Rotary Club where he thrived in the "Service Above Self" philosophy. After relocating to Aptos, he became a member of The Rotary Club of Soquel in 1965, and remained a member until his death in 1984. His personable soft-spoken manner combined with vision & common sense made him a popular Rotarian and accounted for his long service as Club Secretary where he guided many Club Presidents during the 70's & 80's. Henry's vision of a Club Foundation to extend its capabilities to serve the community came to fruition, and in 1986 Vera established the Piatt Trust, which culminated in the Graduate Fellowship as it exists today. Vera passed on in 2007.
When asked why a graduate fellowship? Henry replied "I want to fund our community's best and brightest!"

Henry and Vera Piatt Fellowship is for Graduate Studies in the STEM Disciplines. The Piatt Fellowship provides a single award annually of $15,000 to a graduate of a Santa Cruz County Public High School who is pursuing a graduate degree at UC Santa Cruz in one of the science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) disciplines during the academic year following their application. 🧬🔬🧫🧪🔭

The Henry and Vera Piatt Fellows are:
♦   Kevin Weatherwax (2022-2023) 
♦   Megan Durham (2021-2022)
♦   John Wenger (2020-2021)
♦   Veronica Urabe (2019-2020)
♦   Alexey Munishkin (2018-2019)
♦   Chad Townsend (2017-2018)
♦   Keelan Guiley, Rubin Lab (2016-2017)
♦   Christopher Deming, Chen Lab (2015-2016)
♦   Kenji Kurita, Linington lab (2014-2015)
♦   Susanna "Susy" Honig (2013-2014)